in.the.round

I have far too much time (and yarn) on my hands…

SB2K10: Duluth! March 20, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — knitintheround @ 7:57 AM

Last weekend, Paul and I enjoyed a weekend away in Duluth. For those of you who aren’t familiar with MN, Duluth is about 2.5 hours north of the Twin Cities and sits right on the shore of Lake Superior. There are cute little shops and unique restaurants in the area, but for us, it’s a place to just relax.

We left around 4:00 on Friday and got to Duluth around 7. We decided that we would go ahead and eat before we went to the hotel, because once we got there, we weren’t going to want to leave again. Paul had booked the hotel, which was exciting, because he is really good at choosing good places. We stayed at Beacon Point Condos. I know it says “condos”, and there are condos in the complex, but they also rent some of the space as a hotel. I would recommend this place to anyone going to Duluth.

These are some of the condos next to our room. Such a beautiful place!

This was the view outside of our room. We had a small patio, with a breakfast table. You can make out the lift bridge on the far left of the photo, and the city scape is Duluth. I loved that we were right on the water! It is as close as I have been to the feel of the beach in the Midwest.

We spent Saturday just bumming around Duluth. I knew I wanted to make a visit to Yarn Harbor, the local yarn shop, and Paul was a super good sport and went along with me. The plan was to buy a skein of souvenir sock yarn, but I was a little disappointed with their sock selection (I am spoiled by Borealis!). Then I saw a woman working on a cardigan that I fell in love with. So I purchased a wool/bamboo blend yarn in a silver color and the pattern for this great cardigan, Geodesic:

We spent the rest of Saturday walking around Canal Park and just enjoying some time together. We knew we wanted to eat a the New Scenic Cafe on Saturday night. It’s a place we had been once before, and still talked about the meal we had, two years later. I will post about our meal separately, but I will tell you that it was incredible, and if you have a chance to eat there when you are visiting Duluth, I would highly recommend it.

After a wonderful dinner, we went back to the hotel and relaxed. Sunday’s weather was much sunnier than Saturday, but we were on our way out of Duluth. We checked out of the hotel and had lunch in town before heading home. Although this was no Cancun Spring Break, it was a wonderful weekend and much needed relaxation for the two of us.

I hope you all had a wonderful Spring Break, too!

 

One Response to “SB2K10: Duluth!”

  1. jess Says:

    cute sweater! I can’t wait to see it!


Leave a Reply

