in.the.round

I have far too much time (and yarn) on my hands…

A sweater and such… February 8, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — knitintheround @ 8:45 PM

Sorry for the lack of posts lately. School has been really busy…I have an annual presentation to give on March 1st. It’s not a life changing event by any means, but it just adds a little bit of pressure to get some research results out in the next few weeks. I am also fairly intense about organizing and practicing my slides, so that will be my focus for the next 3 weeks. In an odd way, I like this kind of pressure. I like having goals, and an organized vision of what needs to be done. I like deadlines. This has been something I have struggled with in grad school, the lack of consistent activity is difficult for me, but I think I am slowly getting the hang of it. Ok, VERY slowly….it’s been 4 years now! Haha.

Anyways, there are a lot of exciting things coming up that I will hopefully have time to blog about in the near future. In the next few weeks we will have our first Catholic marriage/Cana couple meeting. I am nervous about this, but feel like it’s one of the larger pieces of the wedding puzzle we have yet finish. Paul and I are also going on our regular Spring Break weekend away. We have always stayed in Minnesota, and sometimes we have even just stayed in downtown Minneapolis for the weekend. This year we are spending the weekend in Duluth. We spent our 2008 Spring Break in Duluth as well, but we had such a good time that we thought we would go back. I will definitely be blogging about that when the time comes. As for things happening in the near future:

I finished knitting my very first sweater. I followed this pattern for Francis Revisited and used a teal Eco Wool. I really like the finished product. The only thing I could be happier with is the sleeves, I did my best to make them fit the way I wanted, but I think I need some more sweater practice to get the hang of shaping on the fly instead of just following the pattern. Even so, I am really looking forward to wearing this to my knitting circle tomorrow night! Here are some fairly sad attempts to take a photo of the sweater while I am at home alone (Yes, that is an Optimus Prime towel in the background. Don’t judge).

Tomorrow is the second episode of the last season of LOST. The season premier was awesome, and I have no doubts that the final season of the show will be any different. Do any of you watch LOST? Have you seen this box set on Amazon? I wish I had $200 to spend on DVDs…we will own this some day.

Sunday is Valentine’s Day. I’m not the kind of girl to get really excited about red and pink candy, cheesy Hallmark cards or candle light dinners. This year, we are celebrating with a Wild Hockey game!! I have to give Paul all the credit for this years Feb 14th activities, he had the whole day worked out. The plan is to go to the MN History Museum in the morning to see the Ben Franklin exhibit (so exciting!) and then the hockey game is at 2pm. We are going to wrap the evening with sushi at Sakura. If you live in the area and like sushi, this is a really great place to eat.

I hope you are all having a good start to this very snowy week and enjoy your Valentine’s day with the people you love.

 

One Response to “A sweater and such…”

  1. Kala Says:

    The sweater looks awesome on you, great job!!!


Leave a Reply

