in.the.round

I have far too much time (and yarn) on my hands…

My Hand at Empanadas January 20, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — knitintheround @ 9:14 PM

Happy Wednesday everyone! I am finally feeling a little bit better. The cold that I had last week, settled and I have a sinus infection and both of my ears are infected. Awesome. I am on enough antibiotics to kill a horse, but it appears to be helping…thank goodness. I can finally hear more than just my pulse and my sense of taste is back. These are both very good signs.

I thought I would post tonight because I won’t be posting again until sometime next week. My Aunt Kathy is flying in from NC tomorrow. We are doing some wedding things, but mainly doing as much “winter” stuff as we possibly can because this little Southern Belle is visiting MN in January…she’s got to be a little crazy. I will hopefully do a good job at taking photos and recording our adventures over the weekend for a post later next week.

I was lolly-gagging around in the blogging world and came across Buttons Magee’s blog. This blog is simple and straight forward, and she has wonderful ideas and recipes on a fairly regular basis. I found a post about making homemade empanadas, a Spanish and Portuguese stuffed bread or pastry (thank you Wikipedia). I had never had empanadas, but I thought this was something that Paul and I would definitely enjoy! Who wouldn’t like a homemade HotPocket? With that in mind, I decided to try my hand at making these little guys.

Recipe from Buttons Magee

Empanada dough:

2 1/4 cups  flour

1 1/2 teaspoons salt

1 stick (1/2 cup) cold butter, cut into pieces

1 large egg

1/3 cup ice water

1 tablespoon vinegar

I used a food processor to pulse all the ingredients together. First you, combine the flour, salt, and (cold) butter.  Pulse until completely combined into a fine mixture. Separately, beat together the egg, vinegar, and water.  Pour this into the processor and pulse until the dough comes together.  Turn out on a board and give it two or three quick kneads.  Shape into a disk and wrap in plastic wrap.  Place in fridge for at least one hour.

Take the dough out of the fridge and cut your dough into 12 equal pieces.  With a rolling pin, roll your ball of dough into a flat circle about 1/8″ thick.

Place a spoon of filling on top and fold over your dough to make a half-circle.

Now crimp the sides until the pie stays closed.  Place the empanadas on a baking sheet.

At this point you can either cook your empanadas at 400 F for 25 minutes, or freeze them on the tray for later.

For my filling, I browned one onion in olive oil and garlic, tossed in some roasted chicken and a packet of taco seasoning. I topped a spoonful of this with a little bit of cheddar cheese before I closed up the empanadas. I served them with some chopped avocado with lime juice. Delicious!

I look forward to doing this again with a different type of filling. You could do pizza ones with mozzarella and veggies and a little red sauce or Indian ones like samosas…the possibilities are endless!

I love the idea that you could freeze these. A dozen empanadas is a lot, so Paul and I ate them for 2-3 meals, but next time I may just cook what we want to eat then and freeze the rest.

Let me know if you give these a try!

Thanks again to Buttons Magee.

 

One Response to “My Hand at Empanadas”

  1. Val Says:

    I’m glad you’re starting to feel better!! Have fun this weekend 🙂


Leave a Reply

