in.the.round

I have far too much time (and yarn) on my hands…

Things that still shock me about winter in MN January 4, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — knitintheround @ 7:48 PM
Tags: ,

As the days of “high of zero” start rolling around, I realized that even though this is my 4th winter in MN, there are things that I do not think my little Southern Belle brain will ever be able to understand:

  • For my entire life (before MN), ski masks have existed for robbing banks and gas stations. This is not true in MN because they are important for keeping the appendages on your face from freezing off, but every time I see someone in a ski mask, I still panic for a split second.
  • I have never really understood why people smoke at all, but in the winter in MN, I would imagine quitting would be the most appealing option. The alternative is to be outside, in -20 degree weather, inhaling -20 degree smokey air…that would be enough for me to quit any day.
  • Bikers
  • I am shocked when every winter goes by without a report of “death by an icicle” somewhere. On my way to work this morning I saw one hanging from a roof that was probably 4 feet long and maybe 3-4 inches in diameter…that could totally kill someone.

I am sure that there are more, they just aren’t coming to me now…

I hope you are all having a wonderful Monday, back at work, after a nice long holiday weekend.

 

Leave a Reply

