in.the.round

I have far too much time (and yarn) on my hands…

Welcome 2010! January 3, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — knitintheround @ 4:12 PM

Quick debate: Is is twenty-ten or two thousand ten? I like the sound of “twenty-ten”, but “twenty-eleven” just doesn’t have the same ring to it…for now I will stick with “twenty-ten”.

Paul and I rang in the New Year with a small group of friends, some women from my knitting group and their significant others. It was wonderful! I have known for a long time that my days of jello-shots and hangovers are over, so enjoying great food, a few drinks and some board games was the perfect way to spend the evening. We paused the Pictionary game at midnight to toast the New Year, and then stayed up until 3am finishing that game and playing a round of Taboo. I hope you all spent your New Year with wonderful people, great food, and possibly a board game or two.

The host of the NYE event made all of us these wonderful hand-knitted tree ornaments:

Although it may be a bit hard to see, this is a teeny-tiny seed stitch, cable knit sweater. It’s about 4 inches tall, my favorite color, and hanging on a tiny handmade metal hanger. I love everything about this little guy. Thank you Jen!

I decided that I couldn’t just share one ornament on our tree…so here are two more (sorry about the photo quality):

Paul and I have a tradition where we exchange funny Christmas ornaments every year. for us, “funny” typically translates are really strange and silly. This year, I gave Paul and bumblebee in a scuba suit, which I cannot figure out what kind of tree this would actually be appropriate on. Maybe they make some ornaments for people like us, who just have a twisted sense of humor. Anyways, I also love the ornament Paul got me…a chicken in a cage. So simple, but so odd! I love it. I think this tradition will last for a very long time, which will make for a very interesting Christmas tree in our future!

Do you have any funny Christmas traditions?

I hope you are all having a wonderful start to the new year! Next up: wedding invitation progress from this weekend.

 

One Response to “Welcome 2010!”

  1. Kala Says:

    awww, I wish I could have been at Jen’s but husband was working late New Years Eve and early on New Years Day, dang! Glad you had a great time though!


Leave a Reply

